Pharmacist Continuing Education
Pennsylvania Pharmacist Continuing Education Requirements
Review Pennsylvania pharmacist continuing education requirements, including total credit hours, required topics, renewal timing, and available free CE activities.
Pennsylvania Pharmacist Continuing Education Requirements at a Glance
30 hours
Required CE
6 Hours
Mandatory TOpic CE
2 Years
Renewal Cycle
September 30
Expiration (EVEN YEars)
Pennsylvania accepts both live and correspondence continuing education from approved providers. The state does not specify a minimum number of live CE hours.
Mandatory Pennsylvania Continuing Education Topics
Patient Safety Requirement
Patient Safety
2 Hours Required
At least 2 of the 30 required hours must be completed in ACPE Topic 05: Patient Safety.
Opioid Abuse Requirement
Act 124 Opioid Education
2 Hours Required
Complete at least 2 hours in pain management, identification of addiction, or the practices of prescribing or dispensing opioids. The course title should clearly indicate that it covers one or more of these subjects.
Child Abuse Requirement
Child Abuse Recognition and Reporting
2 Hours Required
Complete 2 hours through a Pennsylvania-approved provider. The provider must report completion electronically to the licensing system.
Authorized to Administer Injectables
Immunization Education
2 Hours Required
Required for pharmacists who hold authority to administer injectable medications, biologicals, and immunizations.
General Requirement
Find Free Continuing Education for Pennsylvania Pharmacists
30 Hours Total
Browse currently available free pharmacist continuing education by ACPE topic. Mandatory Child Abuse, Opioid, Patient safety and Immunization education are included in. the required 30 total hour total. Before completing an activity, confirm that it meets the specific Pennsylvania requirement you intend to satisfy.
Additional Pennsylvania Renewal Rules
- The mandatory topic hours count toward the 30-hour continuing education total.
- Both live and correspondence courses are accepted; Pennsylvania does not specify a minimum for live hours.
- Except for approved child-abuse training and limited Board-approved exceptions, courses must come from an ACPE-accredited provider and target pharmacists.
- Continuing education certificates should be retained for two years after license renewal.
- Excess hours cannot be carried into the next renewal period.
- Pharmacists may be selected for a continuing education compliance audit.
Official Pennsylvania Sources
- Pennsylvania State Board of Pharmacy Renewal Information
- 2026 Pennsylvania Pharmacist Renewal Guide
- Pennsylvania Pharmacy Regulations — 49 Pa. Code Chapter 27
- Pennsylvania-Approved Child Abuse Training Providers
Requirements last verified: September 21, 2026
FreeRxCEs.com provides this information as a general educational resource and does not provide legal or licensing advice. Continuing education requirements may change. Confirm current requirements with the Pennsylvania State Board of Pharmacy before renewing your license.